SAFe Agilist Certification – All You Need to Know About

Photo of author

By admin

Scaled Agile is considered one of the world’s leading frameworks for business agility. The Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe®) refers to a system built for implementing Agile, DevOps, and Lean practices on a scale. Over the past few years, The Scaled Agile Framework has become one of the most popular frameworks for leading enterprises, it is because the SAFe methodology works well, it is trusted, sustainable, and customizable. Leading SAFe course gives you a detailed introduction to the foundations of SAFe and its principles and best practices.

To become a Certified SAFe professional, you need to achieve the SAFe® Agilist (SA) certification. You can apply for this certification right after you have completed the Leading SAFe course.

In this article, we try to keep our focus on the SAFe Agilist certification, Scaled Agile Framework® (SAFe®), and how you can pass the SAFe® 5 Agilist Exam.

What is a SAFe® Agilist certification?

SAFe Agilist certification is considered the first major introduction point into the world of SAFe methodology, principles, and practices. The holders of this certification are globally recognized for possessing the talent to help an organization in its transformation into a Lean-Agile company. This certification is awarded to those individuals who are able to pass the SAFe® 5 Agilist Examination. One can prepare for the SAFe® 5 Agilist Examination with the help of a two-day course called Leading SAFe. Taking the Leading Safe course is the first step towards becoming a certified SAFe Agilist. One cannot skip the course and take the exam, as it is a requirement to first take this 2-day course with the name of leading SAFe.

Leading SAFe Course

Scaled Agile Framework® (SAFe®) is one of the most widespread and comprehensive agile methodologies, especially for large-scale Agile projects. The Leading SAFe course provides you with a strong foundation for SAFe and the participants of these courses are able to support or even lead the successful transformation of organizations into Lean-Agile enterprises. The course introduces you to all the principles, practices, and tools to confidently lead your Lean-Agile transformation.

The course is two days long and it is compulsory to go through this course in order to gain the Leading SAFe® 5.1 Certification. The content of this course will also help you in passing the certification exam.

Benefits of Leading SAFe Course

Some of the benefits of the Leading SAFe course are –

  • It will enhance communication and collaboration skills. The course offers you with guidance and tools you need to effectively lead an organization in remote environments.
  • Introduce Agile methodologies to your whole organization
  • SAFe professionals are one of the top-earning individuals in the field.
  • You will be able to get more exciting career opportunities. As the certification is recognized globally, which means that you will be able to find a job nearly anywhere around the globe.

Exam Details For the SAFe Agilist (SA) Certification

The full name of the examination for the SAFe® Agilist (SA) certification is SAFe® 5 Agilist Exam. The exam contains a total of 45 questions, which are either Multiple choice (one answer) or multiple select (2-3 answers) type questions. The exam will be conducted in the English language and you will receive 90 minutes to attend to all the questions in the exam, which translates to 2 minutes for every single question.

You need to answer at least 35 questions correctly (or 77% marks) to pass the certification. The examination fee for the first attempt is included in the course registration fee but is only valid if you take the exam within 30 days of completing the course. After that, each attempt will cost you $50.

If you failed the first attempt, you can take the second attempt immediately after it. But if you fail a second time, the third attempt will require a 10 days waiting period and the fourth attempt will have 30 day waiting period.

Here are the SAFe® 5 Agilist Exam details for SAFe Agilist certification in a table format

Aspect Details
Exam Name  SAFe® 5 Agilist Exam
Exam format Multiple choice or multiple select (2-3 correct answers)
Exam delivery Web-based (single-browser) and closed book
Number of questions 45
Exam duration 90 minutes (or 1.5 hours)
Passing score 35 correct answers out of 45 (77% marks)
Exam Language English

Prerequisites For the SAFe Agilist certification

The leading SAFe® course is open to all, any individual living anywhere around the world can take this course, without any prior experience or degree. But in order to apply for the SAFe Agilist (SA) certification, the applicant must cover the following criteria

  • More than 5 years of work experience in software development, testing, product, or project management, business analysis, etc.
  • The applicant must possess a minimum of experience of working in Scrum.
  • The applicant must have completed the Leading SAFe® course to apply for this certification.
  • You must have cleared the SAFe® 5 Agilist Exam to achieve the certification. The details for the examination are listed above.

SAFe Agilist (SA) Certification Maintenance Criteria

The SAFe® Agilist (SA) certification is awarded only for a time period of 1 year. The certification will automatically expire after a time period of 1 year from the date of earning it. In order to maintain the SAFe® Agilist (SA) certification, you will be required to pay annual maintenance charges. The annual maintenance charges for this certification have recently increased to $295 per year. There are no additional requirements of any kind for the annual renewal of SAFe Agilist Certification.


SAFe® Agilist certification can help you fight career stagnation and keep your career exciting and growing with many great fun-filled opportunities coming your way. Now that you know all about the SAFe Agilist (SA) certificate, get yourself enrolled in a Leading SAFe training program and start preparing to clear the SAFe® 5 Agilist Exam at the first go.